Mandatory Liability Coverage for Uber Driver?

Under Florida law, a passenger injured in a car accident caused by the driver of the vehicle can (in most situations) bring a bodily injury liability claim against the driver.  What if the driver didn’t carry bodily injury liability coverage? What if the driver with inadequate coverage was paid to drive you like an Uber driver?  Shouldn’t an Uber driver who gets paid to drive passengers be required to carry bodily injury liability coverage?  That’s what some lawmakers thinks.

According to PalmBeachPost.com, the Florida Senate has filed a bill (SB 1118) that would establish new insurance requirements for drivers with app-based transportation network companies such as Uber and Lyft.  The bill is intended to establish coverage for when rideshare drivers are traveling to pick up passengers.  Under the bill, Uber drivers and other drivers for popular rideshare programs would have to have $125,000 in coverage for death and bodily injury per person if they cause a car accident, $250,000 in coverage for death and bodily injury per incident (if they cause a car accident) and $50,000 in coverage for property damage when logged on to the network or engaged in a prearranged ride. When not logged into the system, drivers would have to maintain $25,000 in coverage for death and bodily injury per person, $50,000 in coverage for death and bodily injury per incident and $10,000 in coverage for property damage.

The Florida House of Representatives previously voted 108-10 to pass a broader bill dealing with the fast-growing ride services which included less insurance requirements if the Uber driver was the cause of the car accident.

We will have to see what happens in Tallahassee.  Will they take steps to protect the passengers injured in car accidents caused by an Uber driver or other app-based transportation network company?  Stay tuned to Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes’ blog page to find out.

———

The attorneys at Perenich, Caulfield, Avril & Noyes represents those injured in car accidents, motorcycle crashes, bicycle accidents, pedestrian accidents and other types of personal injury matters. Our firm is one of the oldest personal injury law firms in Tampa Bay. There is no attorneys’ fees or costs unless we prevail for you.  Call our office 24 hours a day at 727-796-8282 or simply click here to schedule a free case consultation.

Blog Attachment
  • the-word-law-handwritten-with-white-chalk-on-a-blackboard

Related Post

Leave us a reply

Paste your AdWords Remarketing code here